top of page

About Us

The Airport-Sorgho Fire Department was originally established in 1974 by the Daviess County Fiscal Court to serve and protect the community of Sorgho, Owensboro-Daviess County Regional Airport, and the citizens of Daviess County, Kentucky. The station was built and two Pierce Class A 750 gallon pumpers were purchased. Engines 201 and 202 along with Brush Unit 601 were purchased and built by the department, and were housed and operated out of a two bay station on Highway 56. In 1992 a third bay was added and Unit 200 was reassigned from the airport station (now Daviess County Fire Department) to the Airport-Sorgho station. In 1994 Engine 201 was replaced with a new 1000 gallon KME Freightliner and Heavy Rescue Unit 602 was purchased from E-One and added to the fleet. Soon after, Brush Unit 601 was decommissioned and sold by the department. Engine 202 was replaced in 2002 with a Pierce International 1000 gallon pumper and Unit 200 was replaced with a 2004 Pierce Ford 350 Super Duty crew cab. Today the department has thirty-one members on staff and fourteen of these are certified EMTs. We protect approximately 8500 citizens living in an area of about 35-40 square miles. Our response area is primarily a rural area that includes residential, commercial, light industry, manufacturing and agricultural properties. Our department is a public department whose members are on a volunteer status. The Airport-Sorgho Fire Department is one of 10 departments serving Daviess County and we assist the Daviess County Fire Department at the Owensboro-Daviess County Regional Airport on Alert 2 responses and higher. In addition to serving the community of Sorgho, we provide mutual aid on all first alarm structure fires with all other adjoining departments. Services the department provides include fire response EMS (BLS), search and rescue, extrication, water rescue support, aircraft rescue support and fire prevention. We average approximately four hundred runs per year.

bottom of page